Shop for Cincinnatti Bengals gear at

The 2009 Eddie Brown Award Winner

bengals b-rookie

The Bengal “Gabbies” are handed out at the conclusion of the season in recognition of those individuals that made outstanding contributions to the Bengals’ season.  Next up is the Eddie Brown Gabbie, awarded to the best rookie of the 2009 season.

The Runners-up: 

  • Wide Receiver Quan Cosby:  As an undrafted rookie free agent from Texas, Cosby not only made the final 53-man roster but provided veteran-like consistency as the primary punt returner from day one.  Cosby was steady and reliable catching punts and in keeping the Bengals out of bad field position.  As a return man, he led the league with 474 yards in punt returns, including two returns of 40 yards or more.  After Andre Caldwell’s kickoff return struggles and Bernard Scott’s turf toe injury, Cosby proved reliability as a back-up kick off return man as well.  He played on all kick coverage units on special teams, and even contributed as a slot receiver towards the end of the season.  He had one spectacular catch in particular that got the Bengals into field goal range at San Diego.
  • Running Back Bernard Scott:  The team’s second sixth round choice (209th overall) Scott provided a dynamic change of pace to Cedric Benson’s bulldozing style in the run game.  Scott finished with 321 rushing yards on 74 carriers (4.3 average) and had 119 yards rushing at Oakland.  He also provided some big plays in the passing game, with five catches for 67 yards, including a big 21- yard catch in the victory at Pittsburgh. In addition, Scott took over the kick-off return job for the aforementioned Caldwell and responded with several solid returns, including an opening kickoff touchdown in the same Pittsburgh game. Scott finished with 504 yards in returns, and an impressive 31.5 yard average.
  • Punter Kevin Huber:  The Bengals’ fifth round pick in 2009, (142nd overall) Huber took over the punting job and responded by finishing 11th in the league in overall punting performance. He had 24 kicks downed inside the opponent’s 20 yard line and had no punts blocked.  He proved to be much more consistent and reliable than his predecessor, Kyle Larson.  Huber was also solid all year as the holder for kicker Shayne Graham.

And the winner is:  

Linebacker Rey Maualuga

Bengals brass had to be thrilled to see Rey Maualuga slipping all the way down to their pick in round two (38th overall).  Projected as a mid-first rounder, Maualuga inexplicably found himself on the board when the Bengals got on the clock. 

It didn’t take the team long to put in their selection.Bengals Camp

Nor did it take long for him to make an impression on head coach Marvin Lewis, defensive coordinator Mike Zimmer, and linebackers coach Jeff Fitzgerald.  Maualuga was a starter from week one at outside linebacker, finishing with 63 combined tackles, one sack, 2 passes defensed and 3 forced fumbles.  Best of all, he provided an intensity on the field and aggressiveness that had been lacking in Cincinnati over the past several years.  Teamed with Dhani Jones in the middle, Keith Rivers on the other side, and solid role players like Brandon Johnson, Rashad Jeanty, and Abdul Hodge, the Bengals found themselves with the luxury of having excellent depth in the linebacking corps. 

Maualuga ended the season on injured reserve with a broken leg, but should be back for the spring.  He should only get better with another year in coach Zimmer’s scheme and another offseason of preparation.

Congratulations to Rey Maualuga!  The 2009 Eddie Brown Award Winner!

 Agree?  Disagree?  Let us know by posting a comment!

About Eddie Brown:  The Bengals Gab rookie MVP award is named after former Wide Receiver Eddie Brown.  Brown was the NFL Offensive Rookie of the Year in 1985 after posting 53 catches for 942 yards and 8 touchdowns.  He was the Bengals’ first round pick that year (13th overall) from the University of Miami.  Brown went on to play eight years in the NFL, all with the Bengals.  He was selected to one pro bowl (1988), and was a starting receiver for the team in Super Bowl XXIII.

Enjoyed this post?
Subscribe to Bengals Gab via RSS Feed or E-mail and receive daily news updates from us!

Submit to Digg  Stumble This Story  Share on Twitter  Post on Facebook  Post on MySpace  Add to  Bark It Up  Submit to Reddit  Fave on Technorati

One Response to “The 2009 Eddie Brown Award Winner”

  1. […] The 2009 Eddie Brown Award Winner » Bengals GabBengals brass had to be thrilled to see Rey Maualuga slipping all the way down to their pick in round two (38th overall). Projected as a mid-first rounder, Maualuga inexplicably found himself on the board when the Bengals got on the … Read more […]

Leave a Reply